Wetherlam. 25 March

A crisp and bright start to the day at Tilberthwaite. From the car park. I took the path onto Horse Crag going past quarries to my left, and Yewdale Beck to the right. The path then split, and I followed it down and across the beck before heading back up the other side and joining the path that took me past around Tilberthwaite Gill.

The path then headed north at Dry Cove Bottom before swinging round towards Wetherlam Edge. There was quite a lot of snow, and the weather was warm and sunny. The Edge started well, but become a bit trickier higher-up, as the old snow had set hard and was difficult to kick steps in.

There were some great views from the  top of Wetherlam. I took the path down past Hen Crag and Lower Hows; as the height dropped, the snow started to recede and the ground became soggier, wetter and slippy.

I then arrived at Hole Rake and followed the path back past Tilberthwaite Gill and down to the car.

